Peter Eisenman – “B-Grade” Architect

Peter Eisenman on being a B-Grade architect…

“I hire B-students, and I hire athletes… I had the center from Cornell recently. He has a B mentality. He is a team player. He is not A-A-A I-I-I. I like to think of myself as a team player. I play team sports. I run my office like a team. We had the best softball team in New York for many years and people hated us. (chuckles) Well of course I brought in ringers who were baseball players. I had the catcher from the Ohio State team work for me. He doesn’t know this, but I flew him in just to play softball with us because he was an architect.”

“I think being a B-person allows you to work in a team, not to think of yourself always but to think of yourself in relation to others. I think you have to be a type A to get up here in front of people, but I think I am a type B when it comes to my relations with my colleagues.”

“I hate A-students… I was never an A-student I gotta tell ya. I am a B-guy. What can I tell ya?”

Link to the time in the lecture where the quote comes up – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJMMnb0qrXA&feature=player_detailpage#t=4582s

Full video if you have an hour and 22 minutes to listen…

2 thoughts on “Peter Eisenman – “B-Grade” Architect

  1. Peter Eisenman is one architect that you don’t hear about much but that you should. Thanks for the reminder 😀 And these lines are really helpful. Kind of just what I needed right now. If you work hard and still give a damn, you should be okay in the long run.

    Fun website too.

  2. Yeah. I can’t help but note how much easier it is to listen to him talk that typical architecture lecturers. He is just speaking frankly all the time.

    I think how much exposure you have to his work, writings, lectures, etc depends on where you go to school. It’s interesting that at most schools there are a hand full of canonical architects, and others seem to not be mentioned often. I haven’t been to most schools, but I know here at Rice there are some readings and people who are referenced alot. Eisenman is one you can’t pass up.

It's more fun to talk with humans than machines. Comment below.

